The Jig – Live in Rio (Vinyl)


To share the feeling of a live show and to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the band we released this new album: The Jig Live In Rio. It was recorded in 2019 in Brazil in front of twenty thousand people at the Rio das Ostras Jazz & Blues Festival where the band was the closing act on the main stage on Saturday night. This lively recording makes you almost smell the crowd. The album contains several never before released, new songs.

The record is pressed on blue vinyl.

Categories: , ,



Jorge Leigh

Come Get It 

Give It Back

The Dutch funk ‘n’ roll band The Jig played for over  twenty thousand mad Brazilians at the Rio Das Ostras Jazz & Blues Festival. To celebrate this sweaty concert in combination with the band’s 10 year anniversary, not to mention the spirit of a live recording, the band releases Live In Rio on CD and on glorious blue vinyl. On its fourth (!) Tour in Brazil they didn’t just play an exclusive show in Rio de Janeiro but also at the renowned festival in the coastal city of Rio das Ostras. Here they closed the Saturday evening on the main stage for a twenty thousand people
audience. The warm-blooded atmosphere of the performance evaporates on Live In Rio. It’s the fourth album by The Jig after their studio albums Brooklyn Blowout, Aargh! and Proximo Disco. Some new songs can also be heard on this live record. The song Balls is exclusively available on this vinyl album only.

The Jig creates a new instrumental funksound with elements of afrobeat, soul, rhythm ‘n’ blues and a fresh rock ‘n’ roll attitude. Love for uncut funk from heroes like The Meters and Bootsy Collins brought these seven musicians from diverse backgrounds together. Their compositions originate during underground sessions in Amsterdam where the three horns and rhythm section including Hammond organ push each other into catching melodies and danceable grooves. The bandmembers state: The Jig is not ‘funky’, The Jig is FUNK!

  • 1.Jorge Leigh (Live)03:39
  • 2.Come Get It (Live)03:12
  • 3.Give It Back (Live)03:46
  • 4.Break Me (Live)03:52
  • 5. Balls (Live) 04:00
  • 6.Release My Chains (Live)04:29
  • 7.Second Line (Live)05:08
  • 8.Jiggle Tiggle (Live)09:08
  • 9.The One (Live)05:18


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Jig – Live in Rio (Vinyl)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *