New Visionaries – Roadmaps (Vinyl)


Out of stock

Categories: , ,


  1. Giallo Days (3:46)
  2. The Sunshine (4:27)
  3. Scandinavian Railways (3:57)
  4. Firecracker (2:37)
  5. Summer Rain (3:49) with Hannah Williams
  6. Desert Disco Nights (3:06)
  7. Interstellar Bachelor Pad (3:08)
  8. Brasiliance (3:18)
  9. Shore Leave (3:42)
  10. Spiritual World (3:43)
Their debut album, ‘Roadmaps’, blends contemporary elements with nods to musical pioneers, creating the band’s signature sound. This collection resonates with soul enthusiasts, cinematic groove aficionados and music explorers. ‘Roadmaps’ weaves a sonic tapestry, blurring boundaries and shining as a true gem.
The New Visionaries story starts with an unexpected rendezvous in the summer of 2019, when Phil joined as a conga player for a Joel show at the very last minute. From that point onwards, spontaneity becomes the cornerstone of their musical relationship: impromptu recording sessions arranged just days in advance, gigs scheduled a few weeks beforehand, and song concepts emerging from jam sessions… Fast forward a year and the narrative of New Visionaries truly unfolds in July 2020, when Joel found himself stranded in The Netherlands after playing a few shows in Amsterdam, his first performances after the early pandemic lockdowns. He was waiting for the UK borders to reopen for those traveling from The Netherlands, allowing him to return home.
Recognizing that he had some time to spare and already sharing a rapport with Phil, he set up camp in Dordrecht for an unpredictable period and they embarked on recording fresh material together.
Despite Phil’s involvement in the European funk and soul scene and Joel’s inclination towards soulful pop, what led them to create new music is their shared affinity for contemporary instrumental bands such as Khruangbin, Calibro 35, Air or El Michels Affair, as well as classic influences like David Axelrod and the classic KPM library series. They started crafting tracks for what would become ‘Roadmaps’.
The idea was to construct succinct mood pieces capable of transporting listeners on a three-minute odyssey, often traversing distant and distinct musical cultures. With Phil handling drums, percussion, keys, bass and guitar, and Joel contributing on keys, bass and guitar, they managed to flesh out most of the arrangements in Phil’s studio, packed with vintage instruments including old Fender Rhodes and Wurlitzer electric pianos, synths, Hammond organs and iconic Gibson guitars. Guest performers were called in only when absolutely necessary: Hannah Williams lent her vocals to ‘Summer Rain’, Peter Broekhuizen played the flute on ‘Firecracker’ and ‘Spiritual World’, Cees Trappenburg added his touch on horns for ‘Scandinavian Railways’ and ‘Interstellar Bachelor Pad’, while Yolande Kalb and Margriet Groenhof contributed as background singers on several tracks. The result is ‘Roadmaps’, an enthralling album that immerses listeners in a sonic expedition.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “New Visionaries – Roadmaps (Vinyl)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *