The Putbacks – The Putbacks (Vinyl)


Out of stock

Categories: ,


Prologue 01:29
The Ways (with Bilal) 03:22
Oranges 04:12
Yellow 01:27
Hold On 01:58
Little Flower 02:37
No Man No (with Miguel Atwood-Ferguson) 05:02
Straight 02:07
Drones 02:30
BMX 00:16
No Bench 03:17
No Bench Outro 00:31
Soma 02:19
Silver 05:25
Slowes Slow Dance 04:25
The Putbacks – Melbourne’s dirtiest, darkest and heaviest funk rhythm section – bring you an album of crunchy post-soul post-jazz mystery-cinema instrumentals for your turntable and your sampler. Produced by Paul Bender (Hiatus Kaiyote) and featuring collaborations with luminaries such as Bilal and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, this record is a hard-hitting, abstract journey into an alternate reality where The Meters specialised in Sci-Fi soundtrack art and Dick Dale played guitar on Madlib records. Known for their instrumental 7inch funk cuts and their collaboration with Emma Donovan, this self-titled LP is the first full-length release to the band’s name and is well worth the wait.

The Putbacks take their cues from the great house bands of the 60s and 70s soul studios – The MGs, The Meters and The Wrecking Crew, as well as film composers from David Axelrod and Lalo Schifrin to Adrian Younge and contemporary instrumental groups like BADBADNOTGOOD and Khruangbin. The band play together with an uncanny rapport and near psychic intuition. Minimal, spooky, and elastic, The Putbacks slide from dance floor fire to cinematic interlude and back, from densely composed music to free improvisation, blurring all the lines in between. From the screaming guitar of the Bilal feature The Ways to the oily funk groove of Hold On and the soaring strings on No Man No, The Putbacks is destined to be a classic.

released November 9, 2018

Tom Martin — Guitar
Rory Mcdougall — Drums
Mick Meagher — Bass
Justin Marshall — Percussion
Simon Mavin — Keyboards

Composed by The Putbacks
“The Ways” composed by The Putbacks & Bilal

“Prologue”, “Oranges”, “Hold On” & “No Bench” Recorded by Paul Bender and Nick Herrera @ Willow Grove Studio
“The Ways”, “Little Flower”, “No Man No”, “Silver” & “Slowes Slow Dance” Recorded by Paul Bender @ Willow Grove Studio
“Heavy Shit”, “Yellow” & “BMX” Recorded by Justin Marshall @ Ghost Note Studio
“Straight”, “Drones” & “Soma” Recorded by Phil Noy @ Clarke St Studio
Vocals on “The Ways” recorded by Tariq Kahn @ Breeding Ground Strings on “No Man No” recorded by Benjamin Tierney
Produced by Paul Bender and The Putbacks
Mixed by Paul Bender
Additional mixing by Justin Marshall, Phil Noy & Simon Mavin Mastered by Lachlan Carrick
Photos by WILK
Layout by Salmon Design


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Putbacks – The Putbacks (Vinyl)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *